The Resistance

Looks like that’s our name now–the 54% of us resisting a smaller, meaner country.

resist

Here are some words to live by in troubled times. They were sent by my friend Glenn Terry:

1. Don’t use his name;
2. Remember this is a regime and he’s not acting alone;
3. Do not argue with those who support him–it doesn’t work;
4. Focus on his policies, not his orange-ness and mental state;
5. Keep your message positive; they want the country to be angry and fearful because this is the soil from which their darkest policies will grow.
6. No more helpless/hopeless talk
7. Support artists and the arts
8. Be careful not to spread fake news. Check it.
9. Take care of yourselves; and
10. Resist!

13 responses »

  1. This makes so much sense.
    Way better than screaming in a dark room.

    Reply
    • Yes, though I admit to spending the first few days wanting to hide under the bed.

      Reply
      • Hi Norma, Just got your 2/07 email, on 2/28, but better late than never. I liked the good list of centering points to move along in the Early Trump craziness. Also, Franny’s reminder of the April Earth Day March made me remember an earlier time of gathering in DC for political show of strength to power–I believe that was when you Norma and I with Franny met up–so there’s always going to be reasons to group-up again and show strength against new enemies of freedom. Now that I’m retired I’ve got time to travel for political purposes.
        Hey, a good cheap hotel to stay at in DC, right downtown i block off Pennsylvania Avenue, is the Hotel Harrington, 436 IIth St., 202-628-8140. You can park a block away for a small fee each night. Tell them Sugg sent you!
        Dick

      • Great idea re the hotel. Thanks, Dick.

  2. Norma, Grand to hear from you (as always) and very helpful to get Glenn’s 10 recommendations. (These last few months, I have been operating in overwhelm.) So you talked me in to going to the Woman’s March in DC; you want to join me in DC for the big EarthDay/Science march on 22 April–or for the Climate Change march on 28 April. ???? xoxoxoxoxo Frannie

    On Mon, Feb 6, 2017 at 11:20 AM, normatalksabout. . . wrote:

    > normatalksaboutwriting posted: “Looks like that’s our name now–the 54% of > us resisting a smaller, meaner country. Here are some words to live by in > troubled times. They were sent by my friend Glenn Terry: 1. Don’t use his > name; 2. Remember this is a regime and he’s not acting alo” >

    Reply
  3. So happy to see this Norma,THANK YOU !! I have certainly practiced SOME of Glenn Terry’s List but my favorite one is to NOT mention his name–I would add listen to Democracy Now for reality checks. Thanks Again ,Muin Daly

    Reply
  4. Good advice and boy, oh boy did I need that. I keep getting into this sad, dark place where it is all lost. i’m not even sure what it is. But this helps. I have reread it about 3 times since receiving it and the words have helped refocus my thoughts and actions. Now the trick is to take it out of the house and try it on the crazy world around me.

    Reply
  5. Thank you for this Norma. I especially agreed with #3: Do not argue with those who support him–it doesn’t work. We must not waste our words and breath. Time to take continuous action by letting our elected representatives know how we feel.

    Reply
  6. Thanks Norma. Words to live by.

    Ross McCluney, Ph.D. Research Physicist SunPine Consulting Cape Canaveral, FL http://www.sunpine.us

    __________________________________ Sent from eM Client | http://www.emclient.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

