I love libraries . . .*

I read the other night at the Miami Shores library and, as you can see from the photo, it is a perfect small-town library. They set me up in front of the fireplace and Christmas tree. There were comfortable chairs for early arrivers, a small “store” of donated books to browse while we waited, a line of computers for students (all chairs filled), and a glassed-off study room for people who wanted silence.

My favorite moment:

A handsome, gray-haired woman approached when I was done: “Are you doing any more readings?”

Me: “In Miami? A couple of private book parties.”

She looked relieved. “The night you read at Books and Books, I ended the evening by having my gall bladder removed. Earlier today I tripped and fell on my face. I wondered what other disasters I should look forward to.”

*Education should be like the library: check in, pick up as much learning as you want; check out; no tests; no grades.

2 responses »

  1. Norma, have you considered writing humor?

    Jill

    Reply
  2. I love your style of writing. It is so personal and folksy.
    Les’s photo’s are good too!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

