A coward, a liar and a whore

Just when you get smug (you being me) about a nice review of the memoir in the Washington Post, this one arrives from my hometown neighborhood newspaper via Google Alert. I looked at the photo and wondered why this young guy hated me so–he wasn’t even born when the events in the book took place. My children gave me the answer: he is the son of my ex-husband’s fourth wife. One of the rules of being married to Fred was to hate Norma. After he died, the wife and her children fought mine over his estate. As my cousin Bill Goodman says, “Politics and race may raise emotions, but nothing stirs up hatred like a family fight.”

I like what John Dufresne says about reviews: “You’re not as good as they say or as bad as they say, so ignore them.”

One response »

  1. I confess I stooped to read the bad review (so handily provided–thanks, Norma!) and was astounded by the vitriol! The unmitigated gall of that man! But I calmed down when I thought about how the reviewer hung himself over and over again–from the opening sentence that shouts, “Don’t believe the praise esteemed critics in major publications are giving this memoir. Only I, Roger Davis, know the REAL truth!”

    They say no publicity is bad publicity, and this may be a case in point. Davis managed to portray Norma as one sick, sex-crazed puppy (from a very early age!). Boy, I’d want to read “The Last Resort” for all the sin and shameful behavior this local girl is brazenly trumpeting! She’s the Civil Rights Movement’s “Mommy Dearest”! Of course, I’d end up being disappointed by all the sensitive and intelligent writing, the humor and the heartbreak. Oh, and by a narrator who makes no claims of heroism, but who is clearly much braver than she thinks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

